girl beautiful eyes photography

Creative Mind: Angelica Trinco

I’ve been exchanging messages with Angelica and following her work for a whole year before we finally had the chance to meet in person. She was exactly as communicative and friendly as I’ve imagined her to be and we spent an afternoon shooting and talking about stuff over tea. Mirrored is dedicated on promoting young talents  and, thus, I present you Angelica Trinco.

Hi! Can you tell our readers a bit about yourself?
My name is Angelica, I’m from the north of Italy and my great love is photography.

What are your favourite settings for shoots?
I love shooting in nature and playing with sunlight (I let it shine through any object that I find around). Mostly I shoot with my lens very open because I prefer shooting portraits and this setting allows me to focus better and value more the subject on the photo.

ballerina fine art portrait photography beauty


You mostly shoot with natural light. What is it about natural light that appeals to you?
I find natural light much more charming than artificial light because it feels like on the same set there are different stimulus that partly inspire you and, on the other hand, you need to learn step by step to find a balance that lets you create the shot that you want.

What qualities do you look for in your models? Do you have any specific models you love to shoot with?
The characteristics I love in female models are almost always the same: light eyes, very pale; the length of the hair doesn’t matter, but I prefer it either very long or very short, great expressiveness and a tad shade of melancholy in their look. I like people of different ethnicity; the ones that are unalike from people that I’m usually surrounded with. I love to experiment and work with new people. I have girls I shoot more often with, but that’s because they’re first and foremost my friends, and then my models.


You also shoot self portraits. How did you  start with that and what have you learnt in the process?
I rarely do self portraits and I see them as a gift to myself. I think it’s much more difficult to shoot yourself than others. When you take photos of yourself you’re much more critical. I love portraits because I can reflect myself ‘’using’’ other people; when I’m photographing myself it’s only me in the frame and it feels like you’re doing something good for yourself.

blue eyes model girl beauty

You like meeting and collaborating with other photographers as well. How does talking to other creatives impact your work?
In the past year I’ve had the opportunity to get to know Isabella, Michael Färber, Marta Bevacqua and others; they’re the photographers I like and shooting with them allowed me to learn little things that I didn’t care about. They’ve taught me ways to behave and that you’re not alone, unique and that there is always someone better that you can learn from. But most of all, they’ve showed me that they’re all human beings and that, although you idolize them, once you get to know them, they’re people just like you.

Find Angelica on Facebook, Instagram and Flickr!

girl drinking tea isabella bubola13313658_689953554477442_776743973_o13334724_689953414477456_861293347_oportrait portraiture happy sky mountains

Leave a Reply

