conceptual photography lake with a reflection

Why Don’t You Leave That Camera At Home?

conceptual photography lake with a reflection

Are you that kind of photographer who carries their camera everywhere? The one who feels the pressure to take pictures, no matter how you feel and where you are?

Sometimes it’s fine to take a break. In words of the world-renowned fashion and portrait photographer Paolo Roversi: “I’m not the kind of photographer who always has a camera around his neck, always taking pictures of everything, with the fear of losing the moment. My life is full of pictures I didn’t take, or that I just took with my mind.” (I actually found this quote on my fellow photographer’s blog)

When I think back, I’ve never been the person to always have my camera at hand. Nowadays I don’t carry it around unless necessary and I’ve even stopped snapping so many pictures with my smartphone (except for cats, of course). When I’m attending concerts, I feel it’s superfluous making more than a snapshot and always leave my DSLR at home. I’m aware that I would never even take a second glance at those photos if I were to make them. The important thing is that I am there, with the rest of the crowd, enjoying a beautiful live event that I want to fully experience without thinking about my camera settings.

If you’re wondering why I’m even writing this and why I would suggest you to give your camera a break from time to time, these are some of the reasons:

ENJOY THE MOMENT
As Sony announces its contact lenses that can record video, maybe it’s time to take a step back and live in your own technology-free world for a while. Many articles have been written about taking selfies and how they can make you feel like you’re not ‘living in the moment’ and sometimes technology does seem to interfere too much with our lives.
What about easing into a gathering with friends or enjoying the view from a mountaintop without the need to capture that moment with a picture? Too often that need becomes a Pavlov’s reflex when we see or experience something beautiful and want to capture it and/or share it with others.

KEEP MEMORIES IN YOUR HEART
Those memories that are dearest to us will always have a place in our mind. Those that are not impactful enough will get easily forgotten. And maybe that’s precisely the point: so many times the best and funniest memories are those that don’t end up captured. They just happen, unpredictably, and make up for great stories to tell.

PUSH AWAY THE PRESSURE
Snapchat, Instagram & Facebook are fun, but once you start using them, they can become addictive. The constant pressure to show your friends what you’re doing, where you’re going and what you’re eating can sometimes ruin the moment.
Forget about social media for a while, keep your camera safely packed and don’t regret not taking any shots. ”Shoot” with your eyes and heart instead.

Leave a Reply

